Cattle news     Sheep News    Dairy news  Cropping News
Wednesday, 28 February 2018 12:49

Rice scholarship

SunRice is proud to announce Annabel Arnold from Berrigan as the 2018 recipient of the Jan Cathcart Memorial Scholarship, which will support her in undertaking a Bachelor of Agriculture degree from the University of Melbourne.

Presenting Miss Arnold with her scholarship at SunRice’s Leeton office yesterday, SunRice Chairman Mr Laurie Arthur said:

Just as Jan Cathcart gave to the rice industry, this scholarship provides SunRice with the opportunity to give back and invest in the future of our rice growing community. It is designed to provide Annabel, and all recipients, with financial support and hands-on industry experience to assist them in achieving their career goals.
Since launching the scholarship in memory of Jan in 2014, we have received applications from many remarkable women, who all share the passion for creating a vibrant rice industry – a passion for which Jan was renown. Annabel’s genuine interest in playing an active role to ensure our industry’s longevity speaks directly to the reasons why we offer the scholarship.”

Miss Arnold, daughter of Gill and Max Arnold, a second-generation rice grower from Berrigan, spoke about how growing up on her family’s farm had inspired her passion for a career in agriculture.
Rice growing has provided my family with a fulfilling livelihood, so in the future I would hope to be able to look back on my career and feel as if I made my own contribution to the rice industry.” 
Miss Arnold hopes to use her degree and work experience with SunRice to be a part of the ongoing drive for effective water allocation for rice crops. Reflecting on the importance of the scholarship, Miss Arnold pointed out the legacy of long-term SunRice employee Jan Cathcart’s role in the industry.
Jan Cathcart was an exceptional woman who made a point of forming relationships with growers and played a key role in supporting the ongoing success of rice growing in the region. I think this scholarship is so important because it supports up and coming young women in agriculture to enable them to continue Jan’s legacy in helping to shape a dynamic industry.
Valued at $10,000 a year for up to three years of tertiary study, the scholarship is designed to support women pursuing a career in agriculture, and has been awarded to five other recipients to date:

  • 2017: Sarah Cudmore, from a mixed farming property at Benerembah
  • 2016: Millie Mertz, from a rice farm in Moulamein
  • 2016: Elise Wilson, from a rice farm in Coleambally
  • 2015: Samantha Glenn, from a rice farm in Moulamein
  • 2015: Zoe Reynoldson, from a rice farm in Berrigan.
Read 7424 times
More in this category: « No kidding ACCC MG worries »
Login to post comments

Media Kit

Join us. It’s free!

Link up with some of the best brains in Australian agriculture. Enter your email and we’ll share the best of national agribusiness news, videos and apps every Friday.